Sign in

WSOP Winners List

16 May 2022
Phil Lowe 16 May 2022
Share this article
Or copy link
  • History of the World Series of Poker
  • Who has won the most WSOP? Find out in this article
The World Series of Poker represents the best in poker. The WSOP is the most prestigious poker tournament in the world, with the biggest winners and the most exciting series.

What makes the World Series of Poker so prestigious? Its history.

For more than three decades before the “Poker Boom” years of the early 2000s, the WSOP was the place to go for poker players.

In 1969, Tom Moore and Vic Vickrey invited the best players in the world to the Holiday Casino in Reno, Nevada for the Texas Gamblers Reunion.

At the time, only cash games were played, and as Benny Binion, owner of Binion’s Horseshoe, watched the action, he was planning on hosting an annual event in Las Vegas. After confirming with Moore and Vickery that they didn’t plan to hold another reunion, Binion got their blessing to take the show to Vegas.

1970 saw the birth of the WSOP. That year, Binion invited seven of the best players in the world to compete. Once again, they just played cash games, and players were asked to vote on who they thought was the best player.

Unsurprisingly, everyone voted for themselves. Binion then called for a second vote where all players had to vote for another player. Johnny Moss received the most votes and became the winner of the first annual WSOP, receiving a silver cup as an award.

From there, Binion changed the rules and the WSOP became a freezeout tournament. 1971 saw six players pay $5,000 to buy into the first WSOP tournament. Moss won again, taking home $30,000.

The following year, the buy-in was increased to $10,000 and it has remained the same ever since.

The WSOP grew year by year. Additional tournaments were added to the schedule, and in 1976 the silver cup was replaced with the now coveted bracelet.

For more than 50 years, winning the WSOP Main Event has been the dream of every poker player. Two players have won it three times (Moss and Stu Ungar), while Doyle Brunson and Johnny Chan have won it twice. All four of them did it in back-to-back years.

WSOP Winners

1970 Johnny Moss
1971 Johnny Moss
1972 Amarillo Slim Preston
1973 Walter Pearson
1974 Johnny Moss
1975 Brian Roberts
1976 Doyle Brunson
1977 Doyle Brunson
1978 Bobby Baldwin
1979 Hal Fowler
1980 Stu Ungar
1981 Stu Ungar
1982 Jack Straus
1983 Tom McEvoy
1984 Jack Keller
1985 Bill Smith
1986 Berry Johnston
1987 Johnny Chan
1988 Johnny Chan
1989 Phil Hellmuth Jr
1990 Mansour Matloubi
1991 Brad Daugherty
1992 Hamid Dastmalchi
1993 Jim Bechtel
1994 Russ Hamilton
1995 Dan Harrington
1996 Huck Seed
1997 Stu Ungar
1998 Scotty Nguyen
1999 Noel Furlong
2000 Chris Ferguson
2001 Carlos Mortensen
2002 Robert Varkonyi
2003 Chris Moneymaker
2004 Greg Raymer
2005 Joe Hachem
2006 Jamie Gold
2007 Jerry Yang
2008 Peter Eastgate
2009 Joe Cada
2010 Jonathan Duhamel
2011 Pius Heinz
2012 Greg Merson
2013 Ryan Riess
2014 Martin Jacobson
2015 Joe McKeehen
2016 Qui Nguyen
2017 Scott Blumstein
2018 John Cynn
2019 Hossein Ensan
2020 Damian Salas
2021 Koray Aldemir