Sign in

World Series of Poker Hall of Fame nominations now open

07 Jun 2022
John Eastwood 07 Jun 2022
Share this article
Or copy link
  • 53rd Annual World Series of Poker Hall of Fame nominations now open
  • Nominations can be made online
World Series of Poker Hall of Fame nominations now open
With the 53rd annual World Series of Poker (WSOP) underway, nominations for the 2022 Poker Hall of Fame are officially open.

Poker fanatics are encouraged to submit their nominee of choice, alongside a brief explanation describing why their nominee should be chosen for the honor, online now through Sunday, June 19.

All submissions will be tabulated and ten finalists will be considered by 32 living members of the Hall of Fame to determine this year’s inductee to the Hall.

The Poker Hall of Fame criteria is as follows: 

  • Must have played poker against acknowledged top competition
  • Must be at aged 40 or older at time of nomination
  • Must have played for high stakes, consistently well and stood the test of time

For non-players to be considered, they must have "contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results."

The 2022 inductee will be announced for the very first time on the iconic Las Vegas Strip at Bally’s and Paris Las Vegas on Sunday, July 10, and will join the likes of poker legends including 2021 inductee – Eli Elezra. 

Ty Stewart, Executive Director of WSOP, said: "We are excited to add a new member to poker’s most exclusive fraternity.

The Poker Hall of Fame provides a chance for idols to become icons and we appreciate the poker community’s input in nominating a worthy list to present to its voting members."

The World Series of Poker is the largest, richest and most prestigious gaming event in the world, having awarded more than $3.5 billion in prize money and the prestigious gold bracelet, globally recognized as the sport's top prize.

Featuring a comprehensive slate of tournaments in every major poker variation, the WSOP is poker's longest-running tournament in the world, dating back to 1970.

In 2021, the event attracted 127,075 entrants to the Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas and awarded more than $237 million in prize money.