Sign in

Layne Flack officially named 2022 World Series of Poker Hall of Fame inductee

11 Jul 2022
Conrad Castleton 11 Jul 2022
Share this article
Or copy link
Layne Flack enters WSOP Hall of Fame
The World Series of Poker (WSOP) has enshrined Las Vegas poker professional Layne Flack into the 2022 Poker Hall of Fame.

The commemoration was held in tandem with the Final Table of the WSOP Main Event at Bally’s & Paris Las Vegas. 

Known as one of the best ever seen in the region, Layne Flack’s legacy is highlighted by six World Series of Poker gold bracelets – earning his sixth and last bracelet in 2008 at the 39th annual WSOP.

After winning two consecutive Legends of Poker tournaments in 1999, Flack was regarded as one of the best poker players in the world. Flack has played in numerous WSOP tournaments making his final mark in 2020 during the No Limit Hold’em Senior’s Event.

Flack’s dear friend and WSOP bracelet winner, Derick “Tex” Barch, offered a few words in honuor of Flack’s induction into the Poker Hall of Fame. 

“He was an amazing friend, more like a brother. Through good, bad and all his mischief - Layne had your back!” said Barch.

“Layne was close to my children.  He would come and spend weeks at our house. Always entertaining them, taking them places and making sure it was all about them. When my daughter died this past January, one thing that brought comfort to me was to know that Layne would be there to greet her, and they could laugh together, in eternity.”

The Poker Hall of Fame, established in 1979, now has 32 living members, while 59 members have been bestowed the honour of Poker Hall of Famer.  The Poker Hall of Fame traditionally elects one or two members annually. 

The World Series of Poker is the largest, richest and most prestigious gaming event in the world, having awarded more than $3.5 billion in prize money and the prestigious gold bracelet, globally recognized as the sport's top prize. Featuring a comprehensive slate of tournaments in every major poker variation, the WSOP is poker's longest-running tournament in the world, dating back to 1970.