Sign in

2022 World Series of Poker Hall of Fame Finalists Announced

23 Jun 2022
Conrad Castleton 23 Jun 2022
Share this article
Or copy link
  • WSOP announces its list of ten Poker Hall of Fame nominees
  • 53rd Annual World Series of Poker Hall of Fame nominations had opened earlier this month
wsop Hall of Fame
Following a two-week nomination period, the World Series of Poker (WSOP) has announced the highly anticipated list of ten Poker Hall of Fame nominees.

One new member is inducted to the Hall of Fame each year. The ten nominees will be considered by 32 members of the WSOP Hall of Fame.

The ten finalists are:

  • Josh Arieh
  • Layne Flack
  • Bertrand “ElkY” Grospellier
  • Kathy Liebert
  • Mike Matusow
  • Lon McEachern and Norman Chad
  • Michael Mizrachi
  • Brian Rast
  • Matt Savage
  • Isai Scheinberg

Three of the finalists in the 2022 class are nominated for the first time, those being four-time WSOP bracelet winner Josh Arieh, and Las Vegas residents Kathy Liebert and Brian Rast.

The World Series of Poker Hall of Fame induction ceremony takes place on Sunday, July 10 alongside the final table of the WSOP Main Event at Bally’s & Paris Las Vegas.

All living Poker Hall of Fame members will be invited to freeroll into a $1,979 No-Limit Hold’em tournament, with the buy-in priced in honour of the Hall of Fame’s founding year.

This event will be open to all players. Each participating Hall of Famer will have a bounty corresponding to the year they were inducted into poker’s most exclusive club. The 2022 inductee will be announced during the event.

The Poker Hall of Fame, established in 1979, was acquired by Harrah’s Entertainment along with the World Series of Poker in 2004. The Hall of Fame is virtual in nature, but its membership includes poker's most influential players and other important contributors to the game.